7 Apr 2004

Helena Josefsson, backing singer at Tambourine Studios and Gula Studion (VIII): Swan Lee

Swan Lee is a trio based in Copenhagen (Denmark). The members are Pernille Rosendahl on vocals, guitarist Jonas Struck and Emil Jørgensen on drums. Originally no record label would sign them, so they created their own, Gogo Records. Their debut (Enter, 2001) received an impressive 6 DMA nominations (Danish Music Awards) in 2002, and Swan Lee also won The Danish National Radios P3 Prize, the main prize awarded every year to Denmark´s most outstanding musical artist.

Not only did Swan Lee’’s debut album, “Enter”, enchant both critics and a broad swathe of the Danish record-buying public, but it also gave Denmark a new rock diva. With her big voice and captivating aura, Pernille Rosendahl was the strong female presence that the Danish music industry had been sorely lacking.

2004 Swan Lee

They release today their second album, "Swan Lee" (2004), produced at the Tambourine Studios in Malmö, Sweden, with Per Sunding (producer of The Cardigans, Eggstone, Superheroes, among others). The recording team included Patrik Bartosh (String Arrangements), Mads Hyhne, Sven Andersson & Kasper Tranberg (Horn), Jonas Berg (keyboards) and Helena Josefsson (vocals, background). It was mixed by Mikael Ilbert & Lars Overgaard at Medley Studio, Copenhagen.

The first single, in the radio since March, is I don't mind.

2004 Swan Lee - I don't mind (single)

Pernille's voice is simply magic. And Swan Lee's music brilliant.